Sept Vignettes

for solo double bass

Written for and premiered by Andres Vela at the Tanglewood Music Center 2020.
Subsequent performances by Maggie Cox in 2020. Piece revised in 2021.
Duration: ca. 8-9'

Program Notes

Sept Vignettes is a set of seven miniatures that loosely resembles the form of theme and variations: each vignette features a distinct playing technique, character, and sound. To different extents, most of them explore musically and visually the simple idea of oscillation and traveling various distances between high and low.

[ Score excerpt (opens in new tab)]

Maggie Cox, 2020 (previous version).